2017-05-11 / Front Page


Voters headed to the polls yesterday, voting on their school budgets and electing members of their school boards. Following are local results:

Babylon: The school budget passed 1,183 to 378. Elected to the school board from July 1, 2017 to June 30, 2020 were Linda Jurs, who garnered 986 votes; Dominick Montalto, 913 votes, and Carol Ann Dell’Erba, 920 votes. They defeated Robyn Silvestri who received 856 votes.

Copiague: School Board Trustee candidate Christopher Madden defeated Viscel Moore for a seat on the board, 520 to 460. The two ran for the seat formerly held by Everett E. Newman who did not seek reelection. Also reelected to the board were incumbents Brian J. Sales with 691 votes and Rosemary Natoli, 668 votes.

Voters also approved the school budget, 736 to 328.

Deer Park: Voters approved their school budget 938 to 208, while incumbent Trustees Al Centamore and Donna Gulli Grunseich, who ran unopposed, were reelected with 862 and 798 votes respectively.

Voters in Deer Park also approved Proposition #2 giving the district the okay to spend monies from the capital fund, 955 to 178.

Farmingdale: Voters approved the school budget 1,558 to 623 and also passed propositions #2 and #3. Proposition #2 asked voters to appropriate funds from the capital reserve to reconstruct bathrooms at various schools at a maximum estimated cost of $5 million and passed 1,685 to 492. Proposition #3 asked voters to approve the Farmingdale Youth Council Budget of $661,028 and passed 1,642 to 528.

Elected to the school board were Ralph Morales, 1,438 votes, and Arlene Soete, 1,410 votes. They defeated incumbent Trustee John Capobianco who received 1.028 votes.

 Fire Island: In that community, voters approved their school budget 42 to nothing and elected Judi Phelan and Vernon Henriksen to the board with 40 and 42 votes respectively.

Lindenhurst: Voters approved the school budget 1,294 to 548 and reelected incumbent Trustees Valerie McKenna and Edward J. Murphy Jr. to the board with 1,303 and 1,220 votes respectively. In addition, candidate Michael DiGiuseppe won the seat on the board held by Trustee Sean McNeilly who chose not to seek reelection. He defeated James Gallagher, 1,065 to 616.

North Babylon:  Voters approved their budget 1,094 to 370 and also approved propositions 2, for a bus lease purchase, 1,027 to 395 and proposition 4 to use money in the capital reserve fund for construction/renovation projects, 1,089 to 327. Voters also reelected Robert Scheid to the school board with 1,040 votes; he ran unopposed, and Geri Ann McNamee, who defeated incumbent Barbara Ferguson, 652 to 650.

West Babylon: The budget passed 935 to 430 and voters reelected Raymond Downey, 895 votes; Cathy Gismervik, 883 votes and Jennifer Longo, 967 votes. They defeated their challenger Patricia Consalazio, who garnered 683 votes.

West Islip: Trustee Ronald Maginniss was reelected to the school board with 1,250 votes. Also elected was Michael Michaluk who defeated Catherine Artusa 1,026 to 1,000.

Voters also approved their school budget, 1,531 to 428.

Watch for more on these stories in an upcoming print edition of the Babylon Beacon.






Return to top

Suffolk County Shelter Locator and Storm Surge Zone Mapping Tool
The Shelter Locator and Storm Surge Zone Mapping Tool